Lucky Lady

I don’t lean toward the superstitious.  It’s just not my way.  I tend to avoid cats of all colors and I always thought 13 as good a number as any other.  Even better, what with all the bar and bat mitzvah festivities.

Still, I suppose there is such a thing as being in the right place at the right time, or the vice versa.

Anyway, people are always telling me that I have the worst luck.  This goes at least as far back as college.  Yeah, I got stuck in the revolving door at Tiffany’s.  Sure, a city street collapsed beneath me.  These things, they could happen to anyone.  But somehow they always seem to happen by me.

Back then, a friend would say it’s like there is a little gray cloud that follows me around wherever I go.  She warned I should be careful the birds in the sky.  Because they might defecate on my head.  Needless to say, that happened, too.

© 2013 Jaclyn Schrier. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

